En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies à des fins d'analyse et de confort de visite sur ce site. J'accepte

Top of
the page

aSHaSH

A piece by Aurélien Bory for Shantala Shivalingappa

In Shantala Shivalingappa’s name we find Shiva, the lord of dance. According to the texts, Shiva has over one thousand names. He is the god of creation and destruction. Lord of cremation grounds, his body is covered with ash. Shantala Shivalingappa’s dance revolves around the figure of this god, whose vibration gives rise to the rhythm of the world.

I asked Shantala if she wanted to experience ash. Ash is not merely the solid residue of perfect combustion : it is a process. Ash is a fertiliser. It is part of a cycle of death and birth. Ash therefore possesses the potentiality of life. Is this why it is sacred in India, why cremation grounds have a particular energy, why life and death are but one and the same in the cycle of reincarnations? What does Shiva do? He destroys and he dances.

I met Shantala Shivalingappa in 2008, in the corridors of the theatre, in Dusseldorf with Pina Bausch. It was the last “Drei wochen mit Pina” festival. Shantala danced with Pina Bausch in Nefés, she also presented a solo, as well as a duet with Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. It was there that Shantala saw Plus ou moins l’infini (More Or Less, Infinity). It was a time of strong convergence that seems almost unreal to me, considering that it brought together a number of elements which were going to be significant to my path and to that of Shantala’s. Something was going to die here and something else was going to be reborn.

 

 

Shantala’s dance is moulded by this journey between Kuchipudi and Pina Bausch, between India and Europe, between Shiva and Dionysus, who are said to be incarnations of the same deity, Shiva having lived on in Hindu mythology while Dionysus, swept aside by monotheistic religions, was gradually forgotten in Europe, a wandering god, god of theatre. Shantala constantly travels back and forth between Madras where she was born, and Paris where she lives. Her dance mirrors this perpetual swinging, somewhere between Hindu mysticism and quantum physics.

I pictured Shantala Shivalingappa dancing on ash for aSH, the title of which is made up of the initials and last letters of her name. aSH is the final opus in the trilogy of portraits of women, ten years after it began in 2008 with Questcequetudeviens? (What’s Become of You ?), followed by Plexus in 2012. In this trilogy, my starting point is not space, which is my usual subject matter in theater, but a woman, a person who has her own story. This trilogy is about a living being unfolding through dance. With aSH, Shantala Shivalingappa dances beyond herself. In a set designed from ash and vibrations, she incarnates Shiva who propels the world into manifesting and allows space to dance.

Aurélien Bory • September 2017

 

SHANTALA SHIVALINGAPPA
dancer

Born in Madras, India, brought up in Paris, Shantala is the child of east and west. She grew up in a world filled with dance and music, initiated at a tender age by her mother, dancer Savitry Nair.

Deeply moved and inspired by Master Vempati Chinna Satyam’s pure and graceful style, Shantala dedicated herself to Kuchipudi, and received an intense and rigorous training from her master.

Driven by a deep desire to bring Kuchipudi to the western audience, she has performed in important festivals and theatres (such as: Théâtre de la Ville-Paris, Sadler’s Wells – London, Mercat de les Flors-Barcelona, Jacob’s Pillow Festival-USA, New York City Center, Herbst Theatre-San Francisco), earning praise and admiration from all.

Acclaimed as a rare dancer by artists and connoisseurs in India and Europe, Shantala combines a perfect technique with flowing grace and a very fine sensitivity. Since the age of 13, she also had the privilege of working with some of the greatest artists of our times: Maurice Béjart (1789…et nous), Peter Brook (for whom she played Miranda in The Tempest and Ophelia in Hamlet), Bartabas (Chimère), Pina Bausch (O Dido, Néfès, and Bamboo Blues), Amagatsu (Ibuki). Such experiences make her artistic journey a truly unique one.

Today, Shantala shares her time between touring with her solos and expanding her own choreographic work in the Kuchipudi style. Passionate about human encounters and the artistic journey they trigger, she also revels in collaborating with various artists in the exploration of dance, music and theatre.

Some of these collaborations are: Play (2010), a duet with dancer-choreographer Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Nineteen Mantras (2012), a modern opera inspired by hindu myths, directed by Giorgio Barberi Corsetti and for which Shantala created the choreography; Peer Gynt (2012) directed by Irina Brook for the Salzburg Festival, in which Shantala acts, dances, and sings.

In 2013, Shantala was awarded the prestigious «Bessie» dance award in New York City for her Kuchipudi solo «Shiva Ganga». In 2014, she performed in AM I, a piece by Sydney-based «Shaun Parker & Company» at the Sydney Opera House, with a cast of 13 Australian dancers and musicians.

 

CASTING

Design, scenography, direction Aurélien Bory
With Shantala Shivalingappa

and Loïc Schild (percussions)

Dramaturgy • Taïcyr Fadel
Light design • Arno Veyrat
Music • Joan Cambon
Set Technical Conception • Pierre Dequivre, Stéphane Chipeaux-Dardé
Costumes • Manuela Agnesini
with the valuable help of Nathalie Trouvé
Technical director • Arno Veyrat
Stage manager • Thomas Dupeyron
Sound manager • Stéphane Ley
Light manager • Mallory Duhamel
Head of productions • Florence Meurisse
Production manager • Clément Séguier-Faucher
Logistic manager • Justine Cailliau Konkoj
Press • Plan Bey Agency

PRODUCTION Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory

COPRODUCTION (in progress) ThéâtredelaCité – CDN Toulouse Occitanie, Festival Montpellier Danse 2018, Agora – PNAC Boulazac-Nouvelle-Aquitaine, La Scala – Paris, L’Onde Théâtre Centre d’Art, Vélizy-Villacoublay. With the participation of ENSATT-Lyon.

REHEARSALS AND RESIDENCIES La nouvelle Digue-Toulouse, ThéâtredelaCité – CDN Toulouse Occitanie

Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory is under funding agreement with the Regional Directorate for Cultural Affairs Occitanie / French Ministry of Culture and Communication, Region Occitanie / Pyrénées – Méditerranée and the City council of Toulouse. It is supported by the Departmental Council of Haute-Garonne.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies à des fins d'analyse et de confort de visite sur ce site. J'accepte

Haut
de page

aSHaSH

Une pièce d’Aurélien Bory pour Shantala Shivalingappa
(création en cours)

Dans Shantala Shivalingappa, il y a Shiva, dieu de la danse. Shiva possède d’après les textes plus de mille noms. Il est un dieu créateur et destructeur. Seigneur des lieux de crémations, il se recouvre le corps de cendres. Shantala Shivalingappa a construit sa danse sur la figure de ce dieu, dont la vibration, rythme la manifestation du monde.

J’ai demandé à Shantala si elle voulait faire l’expérience de la cendre. La cendre n’est pas uniquement les résidus solides d’une combustion parfaite, elle est un processus. La cendre est un fertilisant. Elle s’inscrit dans un cycle de mort et de naissance. La cendre possède ainsi une potentialité de vie. Est-ce pour cela qu’elle est sacrée en Inde, que les champs de crémations possèdent une énergie particulière, que vie et mort sont une seule chose dans le cycle des réincarnations ? Que fait Shiva ? Il détruit et il danse.

J’ai rencontré Shantala Shivalingappa en 2008, dans les couloirs du théâtre, à Düsseldorf chez Pina Bausch. C’était le dernier festival « Drei wochen mit Pina ». Shantala dansait avec Pina Bausch dans Nefes, elle présentait également un solo et aussi un duo avec Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. C’est là que Shantala a vu Plus ou moins l’infini. Il s’est passé dans ce lieu une forte convergence, qui me paraît presque irréelle tant elle a réuni d’éléments qui allaient être significatifs dans mon parcours et dans celui de Shantala. Quelque chose allait mourir ici et quelque chose d’autre allait renaître.

 

 

La danse de Shantala est faite de ce parcours entre le Kuchipudi et Pina Bausch, entre l’Inde et l’Europe, entre Shiva et Dionysos dont d’aucuns disent qu’ils sont issus d’un seul et même dieu, Shiva ayant été perpétué dans la mythologie hindoue alors que Dionysos, balayé par les cultes monothéistes était délaissé peu à peu en Europe, dieu errant, dieu du théâtre. Shantala n’a de cesse de réaliser des allers-retours entre Madras où elle est née et Paris où elle vit. Sa danse effectue un balancier perpétuel, quelque part entre mystique hindoue et physique quantique.

J’ai imaginé que Shantala Shivalingappa allait danser sur de la cendre pour aSH, dont le titre est composé des initiales et des finales de son nom. aSH est le dernier opus de la trilogie des portraits de femme, dix ans après l’avoir initiée, cette même année 2008 avec Questcequetudeviens? et poursuivie en 2012 avec Plexus. Dans cette trilogie où je prends comme point de départ, non pas l’espace qui est ma question au théâtre, mais une femme, une personne qui a son histoire. Il s’agit d’un être vivant qui se déploie par la danse. Avec aSH, Shantala Shivalingappa danse au-delà d’elle-même. Dans un dispositif de cendres et de vibrations, elle incarne Shiva qui permet au monde de se manifester et à l’espace de danser.

Aurélien Bory • Sept. 2017

SHANTALA SHIVALINGAPPA
danseuse

Née à Madras, élevée à Paris, Shantala Shivalingappa grandit dans un monde empreint de danse et de musique, initiée dès son enfance par sa mère la danseuse Savitry Nair. Profondément émue et inspirée par la pureté et la grâce du style du Maître Vempati Chinna Satyam, Shantala se consacre au Kuchipudi et reçoit de son maître un entraînement rigoureux et intense.

Elle se produit en solo, accompagnée de ses musiciens Indiens, dans de nombreux théâtres et festivals (entre autres: Théâtre de la Ville-Paris, Sadler’s Wells–Londres, Mercat de les Flors-Barcelone, Jacob’s Pillow Festival-USA, New York City Center, Herbst Theatre- San Francisco) avec le désir ardent de faire connaître le Kuchipudi en Occident, de partager sa passion avec le plus grand nombre.

En Inde comme en Europe, le public la reconnaît comme une grande danseuse, sa très haute qualité technique s’alliant à une grâce et une sensibilité remarquables.

Depuis l’âge de 13 ans, elle a aussi eu le rare privilège de travailler avec les plus grands : Maurice Béjart ( 1789…et nous ), Peter Brook (pour qui elle interprète d’abord Miranda dans La Tempête , puis Ophélie dans  La Tragédie d’Hamlet ), Bartabas ( Chimère ), Pina Bausch ( O Dido , Néfès , Sacre du Printemps Bamboo Blues ), et Ushio Amagatsu qui crée un solo pour elle :  Ibuki .

Autant de rencontres qui font de son expérience artistique et humaine un parcours exceptionnel.

Aujourd’hui, Shantala partage son temps entre la création de nouvelles chorégraphies de Kuchipudi, construisant un répertoire nouveau empreint de sa marque personnelle, et les tournées de ses spectacles. Passionnée par les rencontres humaines et le cheminement artistique qu’elles provoquent, Shantala se plonge également dans ses projets de collaborations avec différents artistes dans l’exploration de la danse, de la musique, et du théâtre.

Ainsi, Play (2010), un duo avec le danseur et chorégraphe Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui ; Nineteen Mantras (2012), opéra moderne inspiré de mythes hindous, mis en scène par Giorgio Barberio Corsetti et dont Shantala a créé la chorégraphie, dansé par les élèves de l’Académie de la Scala à Milan ; Peer Gynt (2012) mis en scène par Irina Brook pour le Festival de Salzbourg, et où Shantala est danseuse-chanteuse-comédienne.

En 2013, Shantala remporte le prestigieux Bessie Award, prix de la danse à New-York pour « performance exceptionnelle » dans Shiva Ganga, un de ses soli Kuchipudi.

DISTRIBUTION
(en cours)

Conception, scénographie et mise en scène Aurélien Bory
Avec Shantala Shivalingappa
et Loïc Schild (percussions)

Collaboration artistique  Taïcyr Fadel
Création lumière  Arno Veyrat
Composition musicale  Joan Cambon
Conception technique décor  Pierre Dequivre, Stéphane Chipeux-Dardé
Costumes  Manuela Agnesini
avec l’aide précieuse de Nathalie Trouvé
Régie générale  Arno Veyrat
Régie plateau  Thomas Dupeyron
Régie son  Stéphane Ley
Assistant à la création lumière et régie  Mallory Duhamel
Directrice des production  Florence Meurisse
Administrateur  Clément Séguier-Faucher
Chargée de production  Justine Cailliau Konkoj
Presse  Agence Plan Bey

PRODUCTION Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory

COPRODUCTION ThéâtredelaCité – CDN Toulouse Occitanie, Festival Montpellier Danse 2018, Agora – PNAC Boulazac-Nouvelle-Aquitaine, La Scala – Paris, L’Onde Théâtre Centre d’Art de Vélizy-Villacoublay. Avec la participation artistique de l’ENSATT-Lyon.

ACCUEIL EN RÉPÉTITIONS ET RÉSIDENCES La nouvelle Digue – Toulouse, ThéâtredelaCité – CDN Toulouse Occitanie

La Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory est conventionnée par la Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles d’Occitanie – Ministère de la culture et de la communication, la Région Occitanie / Pyrénées – Méditerranée et la Mairie de Toulouse. Elle reçoit le soutien du Conseil Départemental de la Haute-Garonne.