En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies à des fins d'analyse et de confort de visite sur ce site. J'accepte

Top of
the page

Installation sans objetInstallation sans objet

installation sans objet
INSTALLATION

An industrial robot covered entirely with a black tarpaulin forms a strange moving sculpture. I based the Sans objet installation on the performance of the same name created in 2009. But this idea came prior to the performance and was actually sort of its genesis.

This tarpaulin and machine create a shape that’s at the limit of living. The machine’s programmed movements create accidental folds in the plastic, and the life this creates reminds me that things that are programmed and those that are accidental are characteristic of any living system. Human silhouettes appear through the black tarpaulin, taking on the shape of animals, mythological figures and science fiction characters. The folds are emphasized by the light. The sound accentuates this dual presence, that of the machine with the power of its engines and that of the material that comes to life in the folds.

I also imagined this installation as a birth. Beyond the appearance of life, there is something about the birth of form, the original question, pleasure and the mystery of art.

Aurélien Bory

“ The life this creates reminds me that things that are programmed and those that are accidental are characteristic of any living system.”

 Aurélien Bory

telerama

Robots take the floor
06 January 2016

Digital objects misappropriated with poetry and humour create diffuse anxiety.

WHO?

One exhibition, two commissioners: Gilles Alvarez, artistic director of the Némo digital arts biennial, and José-Manuel Gonçalvès, director of Centquatre, present a panel of works offering a glimpse of the way new technologies are being used by contemporary artists, from Anish Kapoor to young Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves.

 

WHAT?

Counter-performing and supplicant robots, a battle between a radiator and a refrigerator, airport posters that generate random surrealist poetry… With a great deal of humour, the audience is drawn into a veritable “techno freak show”. “The prosopopoeia consists in getting an inanimate object to ‘speak’”, reminds Gilles Alvarez. “Here, the audience doesn’t get to visit Steve Jobs’s house, but that of Théophile Gautier, Joris-Karl Huysmans or Philip K. Dick.”

 

HOW?

While works have difficulty affirming themselves beyond technical demonstrations, most modify the spectator’s perception and/or the scope of art. Like Aurélien Bory’s large robotic structure covered with a construction tarpaulin that reminds us of E.T. or the Loch Ness monster. Or this “masochistic” drill bored in several places by the bit that it holds, that is transformed by artist Michel de Broin into a “fountain”, referring to Marcel Duchamp’s work of the same name. “In mutilating itself, it changes its useful value into artistic value,” comments Dominique Moulon. Freed of their function, these (art) works of a different kind arouse empathy tinged with anxiety. To be thought over carefully.

M.R

Read more articles

“Director Aurélien Bory deforms space and time by covering a mechanical arm with a tarpaulin of light”

 Excerpt from an article appearing in Art Absolument (September-October 2015)

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies à des fins d'analyse et de confort de visite sur ce site. J'accepte

Haut
de page

Installation sans objetInstallation sans objet

installation sans objet
Installation

Un robot industriel entièrement recouvert d’une bâche noire forme une étrange sculpture mouvante. J’ai tiré l’installation Sans Objet du spectacle éponyme créé en 2009. Mais cette idée est antérieure à la création du spectacle et en constitue même une sorte de genèse.

Cette assemblage d’une bâche et d’une machine présente une forme à la limite du vivant. Les mouvements programmés de la machine provoquent des plis accidentels de la matière plastique, et la vie que prend cette matière me rappelle que le programmatique et l’accidentel caractérisent tout système vivant. La bâche noire passe des silhouettes humaines aux formes animales, des figures mythologiques aux personnages de science fiction. Les plis sont soulignés par la lumière. Le son augmente la double présence, celle de la machine, de la puissance de ses moteurs et celle de la matière qui prend vie dans le pli.

J’ai aussi imaginé cette installation comme une naissance. Au delà de l’apparition de la vie, il y a quelque chose de l’ordre de la naissance de la forme, question originelle, plaisir et mystère de l’art.

Aurélien Bory

"La vie que prend cette matière me rappelle que le programmatique et l’accidentel caractérisent tout système vivant."

 Aurélien Bory

telerama

Les robots ont la parole
06 janvier 2016

Des objets numériques détournés avec poésie et humour suscitent une inquiétude diffuse.

QUI ? Une expo, deux commissaires : Gilles Alvarez, directeur artistique de la biennale des arts numériques Némo, et José-Manuel Gonçalvès, directeur du Centquatre, présentent un panel d’oeuvres donnant un aperçu de la manière dont les nouvelles technologies sont aujourd’hui utilisées par les artistes contemporains, d’Anish Kapoor à la jeune Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves.

QUOI ? Des robots contre-performants et suppliants, un combat entre un radiateur et un frigo, des affichages d’aéroport qui génèrent une poésie aléatoire surréaliste… Avec beaucoup d’humour, le public est embarqué dans un véritable « techno freak show ». « La prosopopée consiste à faire « parler » une chose inanimée, rappelle Gilles Alvarez. Ici, le public n’entrera pas dans l’appartement se Steve Jobes, mais plutôt dans celui de Théophile Gautier, de Joris-Karl Huysmans ou de Philip K. Dick ».

COMMENT ? Si des oeuvres ont du mal à s’affirmer au-delà de la démonstration technique, la plupart modifient la perception du spectateur et/ou le champ de l’art. Telle la grande structure robotique d’Aurélien Bory, recouverte d’une bâche de chantier, qui évoque autant E.T. que le monstre du Loch Ness. Ou cette perceuse « maso » trouée à plusieurs endroits par la mèche qu’elle enserre et transformée par l’artiste Michel de Broin en « fontaine », référence à l’oeuvre éponyme de Marcel Duchamp. « En s’automutilant, elle a converti sa valeur d’usage en valeur d’art », remarque Dominique Moulon. Libérés de leur fonction, ces objets (d’art) d’un autre type suscitent une empathie teintée d’inquiétude. A méditer.

M.R.

Lire + d'articles

« Le metteur en scène Aurélien Bory déforme l’espace-temps en recouvrant un bras mécanique d’une bâche de lumière »

 Extrait - article paru dans Art Absolument (Septembre/Octobre 2015)