En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies à des fins d'analyse et de confort de visite sur ce site. J'accepte

Top of
the page

spectaculaspectacula

spectacula
INSTALLATION

In Latin, SPECTACULA means “place in the theatre”. The installation follows this definition literally as it uses the seats in Théâtre Graslin as its sole elements.

The venue’s life is just seats that alternate between being full and empty. The audience shows up in the evening only to leave again after the performance. So, I wanted to work on the idea of disappearance, which we can associate with death. And I wanted to apply it to the seats, thinking of all the people who have sat there over the years, and who actually form the theatre’s history.

In SPECTACULA, the seats are isolated and lonely individuals that together form a sample of humanity. The installation follows a process of extinction. The seats’ lights turn off one after the other, inevitably, right to the very last one, fulfilling every individual and collective destiny. And then it all starts over again, just as the generations follow one another.

Aurélien Bory, july 2016

 
le-monde

Spectacular “SPECTACULA”
06 July 2015

Director Aurélien Bory turns visual artist with a luminous installation that uses only a theatre and the seats it contains.

Entering the building by the artists’ entrance, passing through the back-stage area and ending up on the vast stage of Théâtre Graslin that is plunged in darkness; in Aurélien Bory’s installation SPECTACULA, the lighting and performance aren’t on stage but in the seating. The theatre’s blue velvet seats are lit up individually, in the orchestra, and in the three balconies to create a striking 3D effect. Then the bluish, almost unreal, light turns off, allowing the dark to return, before turning on again.

The author speaks of “different scenarios of extinction”: “Each time, everything is lit at the beginning, and turns off at the end. What changes is the way the seats’ lights are turned off: by contagion, dissemination, dilatation, invasion…”. The artist created fifteen variations, which form a loop lasting about twelve minutes, and which is repeated continuously.

On an inert apparatus, simple seats, these lighting scenarios introduce minimalist fictions with existential resonances: these unavoidable disappearances outline collective and individual destinies that are reminiscent of the cycles of life; “We are confronted by a community of people, a sort of little humanity. When all the lights are on, we start by looking at the darkness, these absences that are initially installed massively, then our eye turns to that which is still light: solitudes, isolated or in pairs”, observes the artist.

The silence that reigns in the hall emphasises this simple and evocative dramaturgy. Aurélien Bory didn’t want to illustrate it through sounds, because though based on programmed lighting that transforms the seat backs into sorts of pixels, it becomes “poetic, organic, rather than technological,” he explains. “I chose a sensitive focus. It’s a kinetic installation, but not kinetic art: there’s no disturbance of retinal perception”, according to the analysis of this former scientist, who continues to be heavily influenced by science in his aesthetic choices.

This is the very first installation by this director, who has been creating performances combining disciplines (theatre, circus, dance, etc.) for the past fifteen years, where visual arts are very present. For his debut as a plastic artist, he proposes a work using a theatre as its material, as he explores both space and etymology. “The word theatron designates the place of the viewpoint”, he explains. He chose to invert the viewpoints so that the spectator sees the place in which he is normally seated. The installation’s title, SPECTACULA, also literally means “theatre seats”.

This word, part familiar and part strange, appears in large capital letters in neon lights outside on the theatre’s façade, like any sign announcing the theatre’s programme. It designates the name of the work and its material at the same time. During the day, passers-by discover it bit by bit, as the letters are blocked by the building’s large columns, while in the evening, Aurélien Bory turns it into a portmanteau. Echoing the installation, the letters come to life, turning on and off to create other words: “SCALA”, “SEUL”, “SEC”, “CUL”, etc.

This intentionally playful typographic approach creates variations in lighting inside the theatre’s lobby, energising its edges and outlines and sculptures in spectacular ways. “I play with a word that means something but that we’re not familiar with,” Aurélien Bory concludes. “It’s a funny word, it sounds like the title of an operetta!”

Emmanuelle Jardonnet

Read more articles

 


SPECTACULA AT THE Opéra National de Bordeaux

The installation SPECTACULA was presented at the Opéra National de Bordeaux from July 13th to August 27th, 2017.


SPECTACULA AT THE TNT

The installation SPECTACULA was presented at the Théâtre national de Toulouse from September 30th to October 19th, 2016.


CASTING & PRODUCTION

 

CASTING

Conception Aurélien Bory
Technical design Coline Féral, David Lelièvre
General management Joël Abriac, Arno Veyrat
Production management Florence Meurisse
Production officer Marie Reculon
Communication and public relations officer Sarah Poirot
Press Dorothée Duplan, Flore Guiraud, Eva Dias assisted by Louise Dubreuil (Plan Bey)

PRODUCTION Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory

A joint command of Le Voyage à Nantes and Le Grand T théâtre de Loire-Atlantique, created at the Théâtre Graslin during the edition 2015 of Le Voyage à Nantes. Production in Toulouse of the Company 111 – Aurélien Bory, in coproduction with the TNT – Théâtre national de Toulouse.

Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory is accredited by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication – The Occitanie / Pyrénées -Méditerranée Regional Directorate for Cultural Affairs, The Occitanie / Pyrénées – Méditerranée Region and the City of Toulouse. It is supported by the Departmental Council of the Haute-Garonne.

———

Photos Théâtre Graslin – Nantes : Franck Tomps, Thomas Dupeyron
Photos TNT – Toulouse : Laurent Padiou
Photos Opéra National de Bordeaux : Aglaé Bory

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies à des fins d'analyse et de confort de visite sur ce site. J'accepte

Haut
de page

spectaculaspectacula

spectacula
Installation

SPECTACULA signifie en latin « les places au théâtre ». L’installation suit littéralement cette définition et s’empare, comme seuls éléments qui la composent, des sièges du Théâtre Graslin.

La vie de ce lieu n’est qu’une alternance de salles pleines et de salles vides. Le soir un public apparaît dans ces sièges puis disparaît après la représentation. J’ai voulu ainsi travailler sur l’idée de disparition, que l’on peut associer à la mort. Et l’appliquer aux sièges, en pensant à toutes les personnes qui s’y sont succédé, et qui constituent finalement l’histoire de ce lieu.

Dans SPECTACULA, les sièges sont chacun des individualités isolées et solitaires qui ensemble forment un échantillon de l’humanité. L’installation suit un processus d’extinction. Les sièges s’éteignent les uns après les autres, inéluctablement, jusqu’au dernier, accomplissant là tout destin individuel et collectif. Et tout recommence, telles se succèdent les générations.

Aurélien Bory, juillet 2015 

 
le-monde

Spectaculaire « SPECTACULA »
06 juillet 2016

Le metteur en scène Aurélien Bory fait œuvre de plasticien en proposant une installation lumineuse dont la matière n’est qu’un théâtre et ces sièges.

Pénétrer dans le bâtiment par l’entrée des artistes, traverser les coulisses, puis déboucher sur la vaste scène du théâtre Graslin, plongée dans le noir. Dans SPECTACULA, installation d’Aurélien Bory, la lumière et le spectacle sont en effet côté salle : les sièges de velours bleu du théâtre sont éclairés individuellement, dans l’orchestre, mais aussi sur les trois étages de balcons dans un effet de 3D saisissant. Puis leur lumière bleutée, presque irréelle, laisse à son tour progressivement place au noir, avant de se rallumer.

L’auteur évoque «  différents scénarios d’extinction » : «  A chaque fois, tout s’éclaire au début, et tout est éteint à la fin, ce qui change, c’est la manière dont les sièges s’éteignent : par contagion, par dissémination, dilatation, envahissement… ». L’artiste a imaginé quinze variations, qui forment au total une boucle d’une douzaine de minutes, jouée en continu.

Sur un dispositif inerte, de simples sièges, ces scénarios lumineux introduisent des fictions minimalistes aux résonances existentielles : ces disparitions, inéluctables, esquissent des destins, collectifs et individuels, rappellent les cycles de la vie ; « On est face à une communauté de gens, une sorte de petite humanité. Quand tout est allumé, on commence par regarder le noir, ces absences qui s’installent d’abord massivement, puis le regard bascule sur ce qui est encore allumé : des solitudes, êtres isolés ou par couples », observe l’artiste.

Le silence qui règne dans la salle renforce cette dramaturgie simple et évocatrice. Aurélien Bory n’a pas souhaité l’illustrer par des sons, car bien que basée sur une programmation lumineuse transformant les dossiers des sièges en des sortes de pixels, celle-ci verse dans « le poétique, l’organique, plutôt que dans le technologique », précise-t-il. « J’ai privilégié un axe sensible. C’est une installation cinétique, mais pas de l’art cinétique : il n’y a pas de trouble de la perception rétinienne », analyse encore cet ancien scientifique, qui reste très influencé par la science dans ses choix esthétiques.

Il s’agit de la toute première installation du metteur en scène, qui crée depuis une quinzaine d’années des spectacles à la croisée des disciplines (théâtre, cirque, danse … ), où les arts visuels sont très présents. Pour ses débuts en tant que plasticien, il propose une œuvre dont la matière n’est autre qu’un théâtre, dont il explore autant l’espace que l’éthymologie. « Le terme de theatron désigne l’endroit du point de vue », rappelle-t-il. Lui a choisi d’inverser les points de vue pour que le spectateur voie l’endroit où il est habituellement assis. Le titre de l’installation, SPECTACULA, désigne d’ailleurs littéralement les places de théâtre.

Ce mot, mi- familier mi- bizarre, il le fait apparaître à l’extérieur du bâtiment, sur la façade du théâtre, en larges lettres de néon majuscules, comme une enseigne annonçant le programme du théâtre, et désignant tout à la fois le nom de l’œuvre et sa matière. Le jour, les passants le découvrent progressivement, sa lecture étant entravée par les larges colonnes du bâtiment, tandis que le soir Aurélien Bory en fait un mot-valise. En écho à l’installation, les lettres s’animent, s’allumant et s’éteignant alternativement pour laisser apparaître d’autres mots composés par ses lettres : « SCALA », « SEUL », « SEC », « CUL » …

Une approche typographique volontiers ludique qui crée des variations d’éclairage dans le vestibule du théâtre, faisant vibrer ses reliefs et ses sculptures de façon assez spectaculaires. « Je joue avec un mot qui veut dire quelque chose mais qu’on ne connaît pas, résume Aurélien Bory. Ce mot a quelque chose de drôle, on dirait un nom d’opérette ! ».

Emmanuelle Jardonnet

Lire + d'articles

 


Spectacula au TNT

L’installation SPECTACULA a été présentée au Théâtre national de Toulouse Midi-Pyrénées du 30 septembre au 19 octobre 2016. (deux diaporamas ci-dessous)

DISTRIBUTION & PRODUCTION

DISTRIBUTION

Conception Aurélien Bory
Conception technique Coline Féral et David Lelièvre
Régie générale Joël Abriac, Arno Veyrat
Directrice adjointe Florence Meurisse
Chargée de production Marie Reculon
Attachée de communication, relations publiques Sarah Poirot
Presse Dorothée Duplan et Flore Guiraud assistées d’Eva Dias (agence Plan Bey)

PRODUCTION Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory

Une commande conjointe du Voyage à Nantes et du Grand T théâtre de Loire-Atlantique, créée au Théâtre Graslin lors de l’édition 2015 du Voyage à Nantes. Production à Toulouse de la Compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory, en coproduction avec le TNT – Théâtre national de Toulouse.

La compagnie 111 – Aurélien Bory est conventionnée par le Ministère de la culture et de la communication – Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles Occitanie / Pyrénées – Méditerranée, la Région Occitanie / Pyrénées – Méditerranée et la Ville de Toulouse. Elle reçoit le soutien du Conseil Départemental de la Haute-Garonne.

Aurélien Bory est artiste invité au TNT Théâtre National de Toulouse Midi-Pyrénées à Toulouse.
Aurélien Bory est artiste accompagné par le Théâtre de l’Archipel scène nationale de Perpignan.

———

Photos Théâtre Graslin – Nantes : Franck Tomps, Thomas Dupeyron
Photo TNT – Toulouse : Laurent Padiou